Garrett Lane, Tyldesley, Greater Manchester, M29 7EY


Garrett Hall Primary School

Dream and Believe, Learn and Achieve...


Early Years Foundation Stage



The EYFS at Garrett Hall

The EYFS stands for the Early Years Foundation Stage. The Foundation Stage Curriculum is designed to involve children in a rewarding and enjoyable experience. The EYFS works through continuous provision and we know that young children learn best through play rather than long periods of sit down learning. Our indoor and outdoor classroom has areas of 'continuous provision' that the children free flow in. We also have a highly structured timetable that runs alongside the continuous provision which includes taught sessions in literacy, maths, reading and topical work. Children will take part in one maths focused activity and one literacy focused activity per week. They will read their individual reading books once to an adult and will also take part in a weekly guided reading group with an adult, where they will learn the key stills needed for reading. Carpet sessions are short and involve lots of hands on and active learning. Through the range of areas outlined below the children will learn through exploration and discovery. They will learn through creative activities where they will practise skills and develop understanding and knowledge. This new curriculum reflects the importance of play in a young child’s life and is not designed to be overly formal, yet prepares them fully for Key Stage One. Some of the time will be spent in outdoor play where all areas of the curriculum are also taught.

Outdoor learning in the EYFS

We are currently in the process of developing our outdoor classroom. We have been working hard to further enhance our provision and you will see our efforts in our pictures below.  All of our outdoor continuous provision mirrors our indoor provision and is designed with a natural theme. We currently have an active outdoor maths area, writing area, construction area, small world, outdoor kitchen, reading den, nature area, bug and bee hotel, water and sand play. Children free flow into the outdoor area in "choosing" time and have access to a wide range of challenges that build on children's next steps and their natural curiosity for learning and the world around them. Out outdoor area is not a playground but rather an outdoor learning space. 



The Curriculum

The EYFS curriculum is split into seven sections. These 7 areas are further broken down into two areas of 'Prime Areas of Learning' and 'Specific Areas of learning' 

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


The prime areas of learning focus on the core three areas that children need to be able to learn and thrive in the EYFS. Children need to be able to develop independence and resilliance as well as know how to make friends and engage with others. Children need to be able to communicate effectively and develop their fine motor and gross motor skills before they can succeed in the specific areas below. Of course, all children develop at their own pace and the EYFS curriculum is tailored to meet the needs of all children. 


Specific Areas

  • Mathematics (Number and Shape, Space and Measure)
  • Literacy (Reading and Writing)
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design

The specific areas focus on the core subjects of literacy, maths, understanding the world and the arts. All areas are taught through a mixture of challenges in the continuous provision both indoors and outdoors, focused activities, reading and guided reading and taught carpet sessions. 


More information about the EYFS currciulum and the age related objectives covered can be found here: Foundation Curriculum 

To view our current EYFS-Reception class page please click here